Indoor Bowls

Indoor Bowling Section

The construction of a new function hall in 1980 was a major milestone in the development of LB&LTC. It was officially opened on 25th May 1981 by Mrs Jean Stinson, wife of the chairman Ivor T.M. Stinson. It served two important purposes: it provided badly needed accommodation for catering and Club functions, and it was ideally suited for indoor bowls. The Larne & District Indoor Bowling League, founded in 1971, was proving popular with bowlers during the winter months so it was only natural for the Club to compete in this league. And thus the Indoor Bowling Section was formed.

The inaugural meeting of the I.B. Section was held in the Clubhouse on Monday August 18th 1980. Over twenty members were present. The first item on the agenda was the election of officers. I.T.M. Stinson was elected Chairman, W.J. McIlveen became Honorary Secretary and the post of Honorary Treasurer was taken by J.R. Bailie. These three officers were joined by J. McFaul and A.H. Girvan to make up the Selection Committee.

It is interesting to note that J. McFaul is still an active member of the present team and has played in almost every match over the past 27 years – quite a record!

It was agreed to enter a team in the Larne & District I.B. League and that playing nights should be Mondays and Thursdays. This meant that the Club would be open during the winter months. Before this it had been closed from the end of September until the beginning of April, so this was a major step towards “all the year round” opening. The new mats and excellent floor proved to be very fast and difficult for visiting teams to master and this, added to the expertise of quite a number of outdoor bowlers, meant that LB&LTC soon established itself as a strong contender in the local league. In the second year of competition the team won the Knock-Out Wilson Cup and the following year the Carson Cup, awarded to the winner of the local league. – played 13, won 11, lost 2; 551 shots for, 420 against.

The big moment of glory was in the 1986 – 87 season when the team won the John Logan Cup, awarded to the winner of the competition for all teams in the East Antrim League. This was the first time that this cup had ever been won by a Larne team.